Marilyn's Life From East to West


My College Experience- A Brief Overview
April 28, 2010, 12:39 am
Filed under: Senior Seminar

I can’t believe how fast college has gone by…

4 years has gone by in the flash of an eye and I feel like I have only been here for one.

I wanted to share a few things that I have learned along the way and the progress I have made as an individual.

Freshman:

  • Truly a time to learn all of your boundaries.  It was so new and scary at first to be three hours away from my family even though all of us secretly appreciated it a little bit.  Everyone knew you were the freshman if you were holding up a map of campus the first few days of class and I was one of those people.  It was a year of constantly meeting new people in the dorms, through joining Phi Mu and just out and about.  It academically was certainly not my best (at least the first semester).  It was also a year I learned how to be on my own in some respects.  I had to set my limits when it came to mixing fun with school.  It was one of my favorite years because I was opened up  to so many opportunities and people.  Statesboro was so different then too- No Chili’s, Olive Garden, or 4-lane 301 bypass- what would we do without it!

Sophomore:

  • This was the year I moved out of the dorms and into Copper Beech and it was definitely my favorite place that I lived throughout the 4 years I have been here.  I knew my way around school and had a lot of close friends.  We were no longer “the new kids” and finally getting our grip on things.  I think at this point I was an education major but soon figured out it wasn’t for me and switched to PR.  I started taking more responsibility with my school work and working hard to learn a lot and make good grades.  This was one of my favorite years because I really felt like a good student but still had a lot of free time too which was nice  🙂

Junior:

  • This was the year I really buckled down on school- BIG TIME.  I made the Dean’s List both semesters and considered that to be a pretty big accomplishment.  I also became the proud mommy of my dog Riley.  I adopted her at the Atlanta Humane Society and she has brought more joy to my life than I could have ever imagined.  Overall, the year was tougher that the previous too but still a lot of fun with good friends, good times, and the best school year yet.

Senior:

  • This year went by way too fast!!!!  I love the major I chose- Public Relations!  I have learned soooo much and had some of the most amazing professors.  My favorite classes content wise have probably been Persuasion, Semantics, and PR Writing.  The first two are communication studies classes and I liked those because I learned about the way people think which was really neat.  PR writing was great because I learned how to do a lot of things that will benefit my future career if I stick with PR like press releases and media kits.  Dr. Muller and Mrs. Groover are some of my favorite professors I have had throughout college and are the type who really want to see you succeed.  That’s so important!  This year has been amazing because I have made a hard effort to kick butt in school and am proud to say that I have kept the HOPE Scholarship the whole time! WOHOOO!!!  I’ll be here all summer but am almost done with classes.  It has been an absolutely fantastic year!!!  Thank you Georgia Southern University for giving me the best 4 years I could ever ask for- it is the best university and I can’t imagine going anywhere else.

CONGRATULATIONS CLASS OF 2010

Always be yourself because there is no one out there just like you!

Follow your dreams-you are the only one who can make them happen.  Even if people tell you what you want to do isn’t practical- it’s not their life, it’s YOURS!

“Nothing that’s worthwhile is ever easy. Remember that.” – Nicholas Sparks

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Georgia Southern should have you write a press release for them! I enjoyed your re-cap and am so happy that your college experience has been such a good one – these are some great life long memories! XO

Comment by Mary Lintel




Leave a Reply

