Marilyn's Life From East to West


PR Reality Television Finally
April 20, 2010, 12:20 am
Filed under: Senior Seminar

Before Kell On Earth, the biggest reference to public relations in television was Samantha from Sex and the City.  Now… that would be nice if it was cocktail parties and vacations all the time but unfortunately that is more the style of a socialite and not a working professional.

Kell on Earth gives a pretty great example of public relations and the sometimes brutal industry.  I have realized that stress seems to be a common factor in any public relations firm because everything needs to be done quick, right, and efficiently.

Unfortunately in the wonderful city of Statesboro, Ga. there is NO Bravo so I have watched some of the episodes on Hulu and think they are very interesting and never get boring.  Similar to the real field on PR, Kell of Earth makes it seem like there is never a dull moment.

I think that Kelly Cutrone, the leader of People’s Revolution in a role model for women in public relations because you can tell how serious she is about her line or work and what they do.  She not only respects herself, but also has great work ethic and respects her clients which is so important.  I also thinks that she handles the stress really well- while some of the employees look like they are going to lose it (which I’m sure is for a good reason) she seems to keep composure which I really respect and hope I can do that in situations that require patience.

Conflict resolution is a theory that seems to be pretty abundant throughout the show because there are always situations going on that need to be handled or changed.  I think in that respect it is important to be working with a good team of people or at least know how to work well with the team you have.

Great show and I would encourage watching it! http://www.hulu.com/kell-on-earth

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I LOVE Kell on Earth! I think this show is a great representation of what a real public relation’s profession is like. This show shows viewers that public relations really isn’t all vacations and parties. Kelly is so serious about what she does and has obviously paid her dues in the PR world to earn her place in the industry. I especially like that the show gives light to all the work Kelly and her office does. A lot of people don’t realize what all goes into planning and executing an event or contacting the media about upcoming events. I think it’s good that people get to see that it is in fact a lot of work and also a 24-hour job. Blackberry phones are a PR professional’s best friend!
P.S. I pay $10 extra just so I can have Bravo!

Comment by candicehall

I really want to read her book! I loved her on the show and think she is really innovative and such a smart business women. We first saw her on the Hills, which is great publicity for her firm. I feel like the show’s season was a little short, but I hope there will be a season 2. I never watched PR power girls (the PR show on MTV a few years ago) but, I think Kelly Cutrone’s appearances were great representations of a working PR person. Her book will definitely be on my summer reading list though!

Comment by Eryn

Ha ha I loved reading this! My roommate just introduced me to this show and I think it is absolutely hilarious. Kelly is such a stickler and I do not think that I could ever work for her, but watching the way she handles things cracks me up! She really knows the ins and outs of the business and does not let anyone take advantage of her. I guess that is probably why she has done so well! Although I do not think people should be a pushover, I also think that Kelly may be a little to intense. People do not really respect her, they are scared of her!

Comment by allykup123

In Mrs. Andrews’ Event Management class, we watched a few episodes of Kell on Earth. I absolutely LOVED it! The show definitely gave a more realistic view of how the public relations industry really is. It’s definitely not just glamorous parties like it’s portrayed in Sex and the City. I wish we did get Bravo in Statesboro because I would love to be able to watch the show on a regular basis. I think it gives people a real perspective of the public relations world, and it lets people see that PR isn’t just fun and games. The industry can be very demanding and stressful.
-Meghan Spillers

Comment by MeghanSpillers

[…] 17. Marilyn Lintel’s PR Reality Television Finally […]

Pingback by Comments Continued « Meghan's Public Relations Blog

[…] 18. Comment on Marilyn Lintel’s Blog: PR Reality Television Finally April 19, 2010 I LOVE Kell on Earth! I think this show is a great representation of what a real public relation’s profession is like. This show shows viewers that public relations really isn’t all vacations and parties. Kelly is so serious about what she does and has obviously paid her dues in the PR world to earn her place in the industry. I especially like that the show gives light to all the work Kelly and her office does. A lot of people don’t realize what all goes into planning and executing an event or contacting the media about upcoming events. I think it’s good that people get to see that it is in fact a lot of work and also a 24-hour job. Blackberry phones are a PR professional’s best friend! P.S. I pay $10 extra just so I can have Bravo! […]

Pingback by Blog Comments « Candice Hall's Blog

I just laughed out loud remembering me, you, and Sarah talking about “Kell on Earth” studying for Persuasion. I agree with you about Kelly Cutrone being a role model for women. Her book is excellent at inspiring young girls coming into the PR world. By just watching the show, people have no idea the struggles she had to go through in order to get where she is today. The fashion PR industry is cut-throat and by being hard on her employees she is succeeds in giving them tough skin in an industry where they are going to need it! Although I know I would be afraid of her and obey anything she told me to do to prevent her from getting mad, she is a great PR professional to learn from. Lets move to NYC and go work for her!

Comment by carriebethabramson




Leave a Reply

