Marilyn's Life From East to West


What I Am Thankful For…
November 18, 2009, 4:54 am
Filed under: Personal, PRCA 3330- PR Writing, Uncategorized

Since Thanksgiving is right around the corner, it seems appropriate to talk about some of the things we are thankful for!  I have a lot that I am thankful for, so I think it is hard to list everything so I wanted to name a few:

First and foremost, I am extremely thankful for my family.  My mom, dad, and sister, Kate, are probably the most important part of my life.  For the past 21 years they have always been by my side and I, by theirs.  My baby sister, really 19, just started her freshman year at Vanderbilt University and seems to be absolutely loving it.  She is so smart, outgoing, and awesome that I don’t think she would have a hard time fitting in anywhere.  My mom is living in Atlanta and is one of the best people I know and one of my best friends.  She has been sober for almost 7 years now which I think is amazing!  She is also an avid church goer like my sister (not in a weird way) and has a great small group from church that she spends a lot of time with (they are all really awesome).  My dad remarried a few years ago to a wonderful woman named Libby and they are really happy.  My dad is probably the smartest and kindest person I have ever met.  He is also a doctor and seems to have passed those genes to my sister Kate.  Then I have all of my cousing whom I love dearly!  Mollie, also known as co-astro (inside joke) is my other half and partner in crime.  I think we get each other in a way that nobody else does and we love it.  We also plan to go to space together one day and also meet up with the cast from Twilight.  I hope that when we both graduate in May, for me after my internship in the summer, that we can live in the same city.

Right now on of the loves of my LIFE is my dog Riley (Riles, Ry).  She is the sweetest and most mischievous dog in the world and she couldn’t be more precious.  I adopted her in the summer of 2008 from the Atlanta Humane Society when she was almost 2 years old.  We think she is a mix between a flat-coated retriever and some kind of spaniel.  Whatever it is, she is a cute mix.  I plan to help out more with the AHS over my Christmas break this year so that we can find these dogs good homes for the holidays and forever!  She loves to give kisses and has sooo much energy.  Aka, she is the BEST!

I am also grateful for my boyfriend, Carter, of almost 3 years.  We met here at Georgia Southern University and he is just amazing.  He is one of my best friends and the smartest people that I know.  He is way beyond his years but I think that’s a good thing.  And by way beyond his year, I mean professionally.  He has already done marketing in California, Texas and overseas.  He wants to move to California for his own reasons, just like I do, so that could turn out to be a really good thing.

I am also super super thankful for my amazing friends!  Part of the reason I am so sad to leave college is because there are so many amazing friends that I have made here.   Both on campus and in Phi Mu sorority which has also been a big part of my life here. I also have amazing friends back home in Atlanta that I cannot wait to see in a week!  Those girls have been my best friends since I was in middle school, some from before, and I couldn’t be any luckier.

Basically, I love a lot of things in my life and now is a great time to tell them how much!  Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

