Marilyn's Life From East to West


California- My dream finally comes true!
November 12, 2009, 9:32 pm
Filed under: Personal

*and yes, that is us with the guy from 90210- Michael Steger

I have wanted to go to California since I can remember.  I wanted to be a movie star when I was little, so it was always a dream of mine to go out there and see what it’s like.  Well, California is everything I imagined it would be.

I went last week, Nov. 6-10, to San Diego for a PRSSA conference. PRSSA is the Public Relations Student Society of America.  People came from all over the country to attend in San Diego and it was really awesome.  Each day we had different seminars, my favorite were the entertainment seminars.  A PR rep. for ABC came and talked to us about her job on a daily basis: she reads scripts for topical issues and does damage control when something goes wrong within a show or the company.  To me anyways, this sounded like a great job because she gets to work in the entertainment industry and really makes an impact within the studio and what the public sees.

Of course, we also got a taste of California lifestlye out in San Diego.  We went shopping and sight seeing around the city and I have to say it is the most beautiful place I have ever been.  We were right on the bay and the weather was always perfect.  We also visited La Jolla- which is unbelievable and Coranado which hosts the most amazing hotel I have ever seen (built in 1888!).

san-diego

Hotel del Coronado

Basically, coming back to Statesboro did not seem very appealing at all after that gorgeous weather and city.  I am interested in working out in California for my career ambitions and after visiting, feel very confident about it!  I can’t wait to go out there again to visit/move and very grateful for the opportunity that I had.  It is quite a city and unlike anywhere I have visited before.  So I got to see one of the most beautiful cities in the U.S. and gotan educational experience out of it— can’t ask for much more!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh I am so jealous I am obssessed with 90210!! comes on on tuesdays at 9! I am hoping to be able to go to the PRSSA conference next time and hope I can meet someone like that!

Comment by ashleyprisfunrenfroe

[…] Marilyn Lintel […]

Pingback by PRCA 3330 blog comments « Public Relations and Me…




Leave a Reply

