Marilyn's Life From East to West


My Dream
June 2, 2009, 3:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

hollywood

I have always loved to act and have decided to let my dream become a reality (at least try!).  It’s been an idea that I have been able to think long and hard about because I have loved being in front of the camera or on stage since I was little, but grew up thinking that maybe my dreams were totally unrealistic.  In order to be able to be motivated to follow your dreams, I have always found it important to have support from family and friends and I guess I felt like I didn’t get a lot of it- at least in a career aspect.

After thinking about what I would like to do with the rest of my life- since I am graduating college next year- I am thinking that I need to do what is right for ME.  Going out to Los Angeles, getting a job and giving acting a shot would be a dream come true.  Even if in the end it does not work out I can say that I tried and live with no regrets- which is a very important part of living life.

This summer I plan to take acting classes and follow them up specifically with film classes.  I want to not only learn film, but also the basics that will make me better.  I also think PR- for film- would be another industry I would be thrilled to be in, but actually being an actress is where my heart is at.

I have been an extra (pep squad) on We Are Marshall and am going to be an extra in Blind Side this summer because they are filming in Atlanta.  I think in order to accomplish my goal, it is important to start at the bottom and work my way up because you have got to start somewhere.

The main reason pushing me to my decision today it not the fact that I want to be different from my friends and family, but because acting is a passion and I think it is SO IMPORTANT to follow your dreams when you are young because they will not always be as available.

My inspiration for an actress is Kate Winslet.  I think she is a phenomenal actress because she can literally be cast in any role and make it hers.  Titanic was probably the first movie I saw her in and I wanted to be just like her.

Anyways, I don’t have too much layed out at this point, seeing as how it is a year away, but I am so excited that I thought blogging about it would be a good start.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good luck!

Comment by Patrick




Leave a Reply

