Marilyn's Life From East to West


Chapter 1- What is Public Relations
March 24, 2009, 2:36 am
Filed under: Reading Notes

Here is what I found most interesting about the chapter and why:

1.  The many different components of public relations.  This was interesting to me because I could see how PR professionals are involved in so many more aspects of the job world that I thought.  When lokking through the many different components I found media relations and special events.  The idea of working for other people to make everyone happy seems like the perfect job.  By doing special events, ideas and activities could be positively promoted.  Media relations would involve seeking publicity for different organizations.

2.  Public Relations supports marketing.  I think that one of the most important aspects of PR is that the goal is to support the cause of the business you are promoting and the audience that is observing this message.  Marketing has a goal message that they want to send out and PR is in charge of making sure that the message is sent and successfully presented.

3.  The stats of Public Relations work.  When hearing the term “PR”, I think of event planning and promoting marketing; however, just by reading the first chapter and looking at the percentages I learned there are many more opportunties than I thought.  It was interesting to see that public relations firms make up a relatively small percentage in the grand scheme.  By reading the different opportunities it opened my mind and I was able to get a clearer understanding of what each category involved.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

